29
Jul
10

Bioshock Impressions

NO GODS OR KINGS. ONLY RYAN.

NO GODS OR KINGS. ONLY RYAN. :SCOWL:

I’ve been spending some time with Bioshock on and off.  I think I missed out on some of the thrill by playing this a few years too late.  I’ve enjoyed the game play and the atmosphere, but are dampened by level design and very chatty people respectively.  When you’re able to execute a clever plan, things are great.  More often than not I feel like I’m being bombarded by cartoon-like enemies and showered with monologues that are compulsively recorded by Raptures citizens.  It’s a game that would have been better served were it more understated.  Bioshock can be fun to play, and Rapture is a cool realm to explore, but I feel like I’m jumping through a lot of hoops.  I’ve also heard about how Bioshock is also “a game about the failure of Randian Objectivism.”  How you say that with a straight face is beyond me.  Sticking to a being a cool game about making monsters and machines fight each other in a scary place is a better selling point than “Ken Levine’s straw man extravaganza!”

1 Response to “Bioshock Impressions”


  1. October 3, 2014 at 2:44 pm

    Everything is very open with a very clear description of the issues.
    It was truly informative. Your site is extremely helpful.
    Many thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Posts filed under…

Archives

My Twitter

  • Hi. This is Peter. Please leave your name and number after the tone. 9 months ago

