30
Aug
10

Used Games

Buy used games and the terrorists win.

The used games hate train keeps rolling.  It’s no surprise since developing games is expensive, and as a result, gamers want to get them as inexpensively as possible.  I am definitely one of them.

Here’s how this works in my mind.  I can’t justify paying $50+ dollars for a new game unless I’m without a doubt going to love it.  Otherwise I rent it on Gamefly, play it, and return it.  If I love it without a doubt, I still have a hard time justifying a new game purchase because I’ve already played it.  So I buy it used.

The one exception being Limbo.  $20 is the magic impulse purchase price in my eyes.  Anything around there or below is comparable to going to the movies or buying a DVD.  That’s reasonable.  I’ve bought 5+ used games, or live arcade games, this month for under $20 each without blinking.

Nobody says your games have to have mammoth budgets. I’ll still play them if they look like SNES games.  But what this comes down to is if I have to pay $50+ dollars to play a game I’m not sure about, then I’m not playing it.  The video game industry is an industry, not a welfare office.  If you can’t afford to make a game that I can afford to pay for then you might as well start trying to figure out what else you can do to make money.  You won’t be getting mine.

3 Responses to “Used Games”


  1. August 30, 2010 at 1:56 am

    A problem with, say, putting MW2 at a 20 dollar price point. Is that a lot of large publishers want that Cash. So say, you put out the 20$ AAA game but then every 2-3 months you get dlc that cost 15, or 10. Even then you are really only selling to people who are hard core fans. Console games don’t work for this model. At least not yet, we can work on changing the way ppl look at games. This does work for PC games but really only valve has done it correctly. Make a good game, release it for cheep then improve it with time for free selling more copies though Word of mouth or sales.

    This is rambly.

    Point: publishers want to charge a lot for games to make more games and have beds made of money, Not concerned with consumers or players. fuck dlc. unless it brings value to my game.

  2. August 30, 2010 at 2:02 am

    I made no point and was rambling off subject. forget above comment.

  3. 3 Peter Shafer
    August 30, 2010 at 2:48 am

    This entire site is based on rambling. Comments are free to go the same route.

    I can’t think of any DLC that made me think “I should buy this.” I considered the MW2 maps, but at $15 a pop it wasn’t worth it. I don’t care how many more hours I’m supposed to be getting out of MW2 multi-player, that’s not how it works. At $15+, I expect a game, or something resembling one. And there are plenty of folks out there building business on price points right around there.

    We’re getting to that point where console companies would previously start hyping up “the next generation” of game consoles, and pretty much all we have now is motion controls for everything. We might have hit that point where pushing technology any further would be fruitless, because the budget for that level of game dev just isn’t there. Making the motion control games is super cheap in comparison, and hopefully we’ll see the cost of making games in general begin to recede as well. I can only hope after that, that publishing games at a cheaper price would be an appealing way for the industry to undercut the used market. I don’t care whether I buy the game used or new as long as it’s priced reasonably.

    http://www.destructoid.com/game-budgets-have-peaked-says-ea-182278.phtml


Leave a Reply

Posts filed under…

Archives

My Twitter

  • Hi. This is Peter. Please leave your name and number after the tone. 1 year ago

