09
Sep
10

Fast cuts and loading times

After watching the above Red Dead Redemption short, all I could think of was “crap, I wish the game were more like that.”  Of course, the short was composed entirely of scenes from the game.  Never the less, I didn’t quite get the same sense of momentum in the game.  Save for cut-scenes, you can’t unexpectedly shift the camera perspective on the player.  That would be incredibly frustrating, but you still lose the anticipation in what’s coming next.  It’s a conundrum for games.  Many of the sequences in the short were portions where you were controlling John Marston.

There were also a few scenes that made use of quick flash backs that were interspersed through the dialog.  That’s something I wanted from the game ever since John got started going on about how we was a bad dude once.  Unfortunately, it’s pretty difficult to load two entirely different locations and render them in a flash like they were in the short.  In that regard, I still think there’s a place for pre-rendered cut scenes (correct me if I’m wrong).  There’s no need to go Final Fantasy with Red Dead, but it would be nice to occasionally take advantage of tricks outside of real time choreography.

I’m looking forward to writing my review for the game.  I feel mostly positive about it, but as with Nier I’m still torn on certain issues that make it difficult to enjoy the game.

0 Responses to “Fast cuts and loading times”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Posts filed under…

Archives

My Twitter

  • Hi. This is Peter. Please leave your name and number after the tone. 1 year ago

