30
Sep
10

Chrono Trigger

Lost Odyssey has been forced to wait while I play another Sakaguchi game, Chrono Trigger.  I wasn’t exactly eager to pay $40 to get the working copy of a game I had already bought before.  Unfortunately, I just missed this year’s fan fest too.  The DS version of the game has been great though, even if I was mislead about being able to throw a football over a mountain.

Chrono Trigger ranks high on my list of favorite games. (Working video from previous link.)  I always enjoy an interesting science fiction story, and being about time travel, Chrono Trigger is right up my alley.  It’s an excellent game besides that though.  There is no other game where you can fight along side a robot and a bipedal frog that matches it.  And it’s one of the most effective at conveying a sense of ownership for your decisions in an otherwise linear storyline.

What really gives it sticking power though is how it balances the light hearted with the tragic.  It’s a story that starts out innocently enough: time travel is always fun to speculate about.  But what begins as innocence turns into well intentioned plans, which ends up taking an awful toll on the characters and their world.  With 13 endings though (hinging upon when you decide to finish the game) there are many different ways to explore the consequences of the cast’s actions.

It has fun game play, a memorable story, and an endearing cast.  Playing through it again has been thoroughly enjoyable.

Further Reading: Action Button Dot Net Review 4/4: ABDN #9b

2 Responses to “Chrono Trigger”


  1. 1 y
    May 30, 2013 at 5:38 pm

    I do not know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else encountering problems with your site. It looks like some of the text within your content are running off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them as well? This could be a problem with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Cheers


Leave a Reply

Posts filed under…

Archives

My Twitter

  • Hi. This is Peter. Please leave your name and number after the tone. 9 months ago

