07
Oct
10

Lords of Shadow

"My name is Vamp. You are the Solid Snake of Christmas past! Hop on my back."

I’ve played through the demo for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow, and I’ve picked up the full game from Gamefly.  I’ve been really looking forward to the game.  The trailers have been very promising (at least to me).  I’ve always enjoyed the metroidvania branch of the series, and bore with the PS2 3D iterations as well.  Unfortunately, I think my optimism about Lords of Shadow is misplaced.  The game looks and sounds great for the most part, but the story so far is copy/pasted from Van Helsing, and the game play has been uninspiring.  The real kicker is the game’s quick time events, which are liberally spread about the game.  I think QTEs can work when the player has been adequately signaled, and when they reward you for successfully executing them.  So far, LoS just throws them at me constantly.  If I complete it, then I get to continue.  If I screw up, I get penalized.  It’s not fun.  As Jim Sterling put it on twitter: “Lords of Shadow isn’t Castlevania. It’s Dante’s Inferno (but worse).

It’s a stone’s throw away from being bearable, but as it stands, LoS is tiring.  I’ll stick with it for a while, but it’s disappointing.  It’s definitely evident that a lot of work was put into it.  It’s an attractive game, but it’s not the game that I envisioned.  Maybe it will pick up later.  In the mean time, it’s a chore.

0 Responses to “Lords of Shadow”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Posts filed under…

Archives

My Twitter

  • Hi. This is Peter. Please leave your name and number after the tone. 12 months ago

