01
Nov
10

Resident Evil: The Darkside Chronicles

Would you mind giving me a hand.  I seem to have gotten stuck in this sewer.

Would you mind giving me a hand. I seem to have gotten stuck in this sewer.

Between Plants Versus Zombies, Undead Nightmare, and The Darkside Chronicles, it has been zombie central here.  Arcade light-gun games were always a favorite game genre of mine.  They are never all that fantastic, but I have an irrational attachment to them from playing them in real arcades.  Resident Evil 2 is also one of my favorite Resident Evil and survival horror games as well.  So renting Darkside Chronicles seemed like a great way to put the Wii to use again.

There are other campaigns, in addition to the Resident Evil 2 story arc.  But the overarching plot of Resident Evil has become so nonsensical that I wasn’t really interested in finding out about Leon and Krauser’s South American getaways together.  Nor was I really interested in visiting Code Veronica since I never completed it.  I stuck closely to the RE2 plot.  It was a lot of fun seeing the scenes from the game in a higher resolution.  They were almost identical to their original counter-parts.  The last 20% of the game managed to become a real chore though and kind of spoiled the experience.  DC has a fondness for the shaky camera perspective — in the midst of game play.  This became extremely frustrating when the strategy for every boss battle is to shoot the small weak spot.  I just about quit when that became “shoot the weak spot, fire the rocket, then shoot another weak spot.”

It was still fun to revisit RE2 despite the those irritating flaws.

Leave a Reply

Posts filed under…

Archives

My Twitter

  • Hi. This is Peter. Please leave your name and number after the tone. 9 months ago

