24
Nov
10

Scott Pilgrim vs. The World: The Game Impressions

I picked up Scott Pilgrim vs. The World, The Game on XBLA when it went on sale for $5.  I really like arcade brawlers, and this one looked like it would be a slam dunk, but I held off while I finished playing other games.  I still haven’t seen the Scott Pilgrim movie, or read the comic, so my knowledge of the subject is pretty much just what was presented to me on the screen.

It’s no Castle Crashers, as far as game play and features go.  It’s not very well balanced, can become quite buggy, and has other issues with the execution of its game play.  That’s all forgivable in my eyes though since the game nails the presentation with it’s visual theme and catchy music.  It does all the right things to pull at my sense of nostalgia and tricks me into believing I’m re-living memories I never had in the first place.  Which would be what they were going for I suppose.  I can’t say it’s the best game in the genre, but it has certainly made itself one of the most memorable in spite of its shortfalls.

I guess I should watch the movie now.

0 Responses to “Scott Pilgrim vs. The World: The Game Impressions”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Posts filed under…

Archives

My Twitter

  • Hi. This is Peter. Please leave your name and number after the tone. 12 months ago

