07
Feb
11

It’s over, Dr. Fetus. You win.

Are you ready to do whatever is necessary to compelte Super Meat Boy?
I give up.  I’m not even going to try to beat the last level anymore. I might be able to do it eventually if I put enough time into it, and if I weren’t a baby. But I’ve got other games I want to play, and I’m afraid that in trying to force myself to complete that last level, I will just grow to hate the game (see image above.)  The question has become: do I ruin my fun with a game for the sake of completion, or do I give up and say it was fun while it lasted?  But after I put it like that, the answer felt obvious.  Why should I drive the game straight into the ground if I’ve already had enough fun.

Most of the games I played (and loved) when I was younger I never actually finished, and I never particularly felt like I was missing out on something. I’ve never actually completed Super Mario Bros., but I don’t hold that against it.  I reached a point where I couldn’t progress any further in Little Nemo: Dream Master, but I still love that game to death.  And during my first go around in Final Fantasy VI (spoiler alert) I just quit after your party fails to save the world, you wake up isolate on an island, the only other inhabitant dies, and your character attempts to kill herself out of despair(End Spoilers) It was an exceptionally depressing twist after investing 20+ hours, though it was an acceptable way for the game to end in my mind, and that’s how I left it for a number of years.

I can only speculate that the compulsion to beat every game you play came about as the gaming community emerged online in the last decade.  No one wants to admit to being the gaming noob that had met his/her match, only to then have somebody else come along and gloat about their leet gaming skillz.  And now, most games cater to that mindset, leaving no gamer behind.  Flavor is sacrificed for inoffensiveness, or flexible difficulty.  I don’t want to come off sounding like every game should brutalize the audience, but I prefer Super Meat Boy’s aggressive style over a more muted, yet smooth experience.  You shouldn’t have to finish a game for it to have been worth playing at all.

2 Responses to “It’s over, Dr. Fetus. You win.”


  1. February 8, 2011 at 10:55 am

    I love hard games. They can be frustrating but it’s so satisfying to finally beat that game that handed your ass to you over and over again… and then it’s time to try the next difficulty level! I’ve heard some awesome things about Super Meat Boy but alas I am unable to play it as I am a PS3 gamer.

    can only speculate that the compulsion to beat every game you play came about as the gaming community emerged online in the last decade.
    I couldn’t agree with this more. I’ve caught myself playing games I am frustrated with/tired of because I want that last achievement/trophy. It does add some more fun to the games imo because it’s fun to compare your achievements with your friends and challenge each other.


Leave a Reply

Posts filed under…

Archives

My Twitter

  • Hi. This is Peter. Please leave your name and number after the tone. 9 months ago

