09
Jul
11

Weekly Links for July 9th

Links

I don’t have much in the way of links this week, but there are a couple of blog posts highlighted by Critical Distance that I’d like to pass along.  The first being a post about Nier’s genre-bending.  The other takes a look at Goichi Suda’s “punk” design philosophy and how it’s shifted in Shadows of the Damned.

What I’ve Been Playing

  • Shadows of the Damned
    I found myself playing a bit more of this after completing it.  I’m looking around for anything I might have missed the first time around and otherwise just trying out different strategies.
  • Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together
    I’ve finally completed this game.  It clocked in at around 55 hours for me, and now that I’ve gotten the business of the main campaign out of the way, I’m beginning to experiment more with the other classes.  It’s been a test of endurance at times but I’ve enjoyed my time playing it.  Side note: if only the entire game was in the style of the video accompanying this post, maybe I wouldn’t see the characters as toddlers.  The weight of the game’s event is still felt, but the disconnect between issues like ethnic cleansing and cute little cartoons that march in place can feel a bit silly (at least when it comes to games being released in 2011.)
  • Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds
    Sometimes, I just feel like I’m in an entirely different world when I play fighting games.  It’s the same feeling I have when I play sports games as well.  It’s like speaking a whole different language and having to read between the lines to be able to fully enjoy it.  Perhaps that how other gamers would feel about playing Tactics Ogre.
0 Responses to “Weekly Links for July 9th”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Posts filed under…

Archives

My Twitter

  • Hi. This is Peter. Please leave your name and number after the tone. 1 year ago

