18
Jun
12

Impressions: Skyrim, Ziggurat

BELLLCH

Good news: I’m finally playing Skyrim.  The bad news is that Dark Souls has probably ruined it for me now.  It’s a far more chill experience in comparison, which I suppose I ought to be grateful for.  But if you resolve yourself to complete all of Dark Souls trials, then deriving the same amount of satisfaction from playing Skyrim is a difficult task.  Granted, I still haven’t played very far into the game yet, and I’m not going to turn around and tell you that Dark Souls is so much better because it’s a difficult game to play.  But there’s something to be said about the rigor with which Dark Souls forces you to learn its combat system.  Skyrim is far more open-ended, and there’s something to be said for that as well.  I can’t help but feel like I’m swinging around a bag of cats when I’m fighting any of the game’s enemies.  There isn’t the same sense of achievement to it as there is in a well-placed back stab or counter attack in Dark Souls, a game that’s wicked to the player and teaches them to be wicked in return.  I’ll reserve my judgment until I actually spend more time learning the core mechanics of Skyrim, and less time upsetting villagers.

I’ve also been spending my time playing Ziggurat over, and over, and over again.  Even though I’ve already thrown my two cents out there I still feel compelled to say that, any issue I have with controls aside, it’s a great little game for $0.99 that you can get a lot of mileage from.  I know I’m still very much a new comer to mobile games and that there are many worthwhile games with the same price tag.  Regardless, Ziggurat is an elegantly designed game concept, and each time the sun just begins to cross over the horizon, the music begins to panic and so do I.

And finally, we’ve got another episode of Joystick Jammers 20XX posted at ePodcast.biz where you can hear my extended impressions of how (not) play Skyrim.

2 Responses to “Impressions: Skyrim, Ziggurat”


  1. July 4, 2012 at 6:40 pm

    Skyrim is not really a combat based game. It is about exploring the world and taking in the lore. In other words, it is a single player adventure!

    • 2 Peter Shafer
      July 4, 2012 at 7:38 pm

      Dark Souls might have spoiled me then, because I felt like it did a good job of doing all of these things. It might also make a difference I had already played any of the other Elder Scrolls games. I’m still playing though and getting the feel of it.


Leave a Reply

Posts filed under…

Archives

My Twitter

  • Hi. This is Peter. Please leave your name and number after the tone. 1 year ago

