24
Jan
15

Terra Battle Continued

Terra Battle

With only one interruption, I’ve been firing up Terra Battle on a daily basis.  I’m certain I still have a great deal of battles to go, but I’ve been enjoying collecting and building a small army of characters in my “deck.”  The game offers you a drip feed of resources to do this: each day you login results in acquisition of money, “energy”, and items.  It’s been enough to continue farming for experience points and tinker with the game’s mechanics.  The core mechanics of clearing the game board of enemies by arranging your party with a single character each turn results in quick, snappy battles that let you quickly iterate on strategies.  It’s not an incredibly deep system; you won’t be building layered strategies as you would in a game like Final Fantasy VII.  But there’s enough here to keep you engaged.  There are options to quickly power-level your characters, farm items to expand your character’s jobs, and to continue growing your ranks.

Terra Battle compels you to simply try to turn over all of its stones.  What it lacks in depth, it makes up for in breadth.  And it continues to grow as Mistwalker adds cooperative play, battle items, and more which retains the game’s audience and helps to bring new players in.  I’ve still not invested any money in the game to purchase “energy.”  It does make me wonder how Mistwalker will make money from it, but it’s not difficult for me to envision other players who are ready to play the game for longer sessions, or wish to collect characters more quickly than the game’s daily offerings allow.  It’s certainly kept me coming back, and if I were playing this game 10 or 15 years ago, I’d want to get more out of it, more quickly.  But today, I’m perfectly happy playing the game in slow motion, and continue putting my money into games that are known quantities to me, right now.  But I’m not the target audience here.  Terra Battle, for a company with a heritage reaching back into some of the biggest jRPG franchises in gaming history, is an acknowledgement of how the video game industry and community has grown more diverse.  I hope the game continues to grow and lead to more interesting future projects from Mistwalker.

0 Responses to “Terra Battle Continued”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Posts filed under…

Archives

My Twitter

  • Hi. This is Peter. Please leave your name and number after the tone. 9 months ago

